Sunday, January 31, 2010

Kathryn Bigelow Wins Directors Guild of America Award -- First Female Winner

On Saturday night, Kathryn Bigelow became the first female winner of the Directors Guild of America's best director award for a feature film (The Hurt Locker). She beat out her ex-husband James Cameron (Avatar), Quentin Tarantino (Inglourious Basterds), Jason Reitman (Up in the Air) and Lee Daniels (Precious). Daniels was the first African American nominated for the presitigious award.

Only six times since the DGA Awards began in 1948 has the feature film winner not gone on to win the corresponding Academy Award. And typically, the film that wins the Oscar for best director goes on to win for best picture. Oscar nominations are announced this Tuesday, February 2.

Bigelow's The Hurt Locker has already won directing and best picture honors from the National Society of Film Critics, the New York Film Critics Circle, the Los Angeles Film Critics Association and at the Critics' Choice Awards, where she competed against the same four DGA nominees. The Hurt Locker was also the Producers Guild's best picture winner. Cameron was named best director and Avatar best picture at the Golden Globes.

The guild also presented awards in documentary, television and commercial categories. Norman Jewison received the guild's Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Achievement in Motion Picture Direction at the ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles. Click here for a list of other winners from last night's ceremony.

No comments:

Post a Comment